kim westwood – works

novels I short stories I fellowships & grants I awards


The Courier’s New Bicycle, HarperCollins (2011)
The Daughters of Moab, HarperCollins (2008)

short stories

‘Luv Story’ Dreaming in the Dark (2016 – upcoming)
‘Hole’ The Review of Australian Fiction vol. 8, issue 3 (2013)
‘Trouble in Nine Acts’ Winner: Judges’ Prize, Scarlet Stiletto Awards (2011)
'By Any Other Name' Anywhere But Earth (2011)
‘Last Drink Bird Head’ Last Drink Bird Head (2009)
‘Nightship’ Dreaming Again (2008); Year's Best Australian SF&Fantasy - Fifth Volume (2010)
‘Cassandra’s Hands’ Eidolon I (2006)
‘1Blue’ Agog! Ripping Reads (2006)
‘Terning tha Weel’ Aurealis #36 (2005)&Year’s Best Australian SF&Fantasy Vol. 3 (2007)
‘Haberdashery’ The Devil in Brisbane (2005)
‘Tripping Over the Light Fantastic’ Orb #6 (2004); Year’s Best Australian SF&Fantasy Vol. 1 (2005)
‘Stella’s Transformation’ Encounters (2004); Year’s Best Fantasy #5 (2005)
‘Temenos’ Agog! Smashing Stories (2004)
‘The Oracle’ Redsine #9 (2002); Znak Sagite (2005)

articles & interviews

a month in the Old Melbourne Gaol - read here >>
falling through the genre gaps and finding wonderland - read here >>
writing the poetic apocalyptic and The Daughters of Moab - read here >>
an interview with Jeff VanderMeer - read here >>

fellowships & grants

ACT Arts fund: project grant (2014)
Retreat Fellowship: Varuna, the Writers House (2004)


Ditmar Award, Best Novel: The Courier's New Bicycle
Aurealis Award, Best Science Fiction Novel: The Courier's New Bicycle
Scarlet Stiletto Awards Judges' Prize: 'Trouble in Nine Acts'
Aurealis Award, Horror Short Story: ‘The Oracle’

Ned Kelly Award, First Crime Fiction: The Courier's New Bicycle
Davitt Award, Best Adult Crime Fiction: The Courier's New Bicycle
Tiptree Award Honour List: The Courier's New Bicycle
Aurealis Award, Science Fiction Novel: The Daughters of Moab
Aurealis Award, Fantasy Short Story: ‘Nightship’
Aurealis Award, Science Fiction Short Story: ‘Terning tha Weel’